More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Helpful Hints


This is fifteen-year-old Hanna Berkenski's journey from her family's tiny apartment in the Warsaw Ghetto, through the awful night she spends in a cattle-car with her mother and sister, to her three years as a violinist in the welcoming orchestra at Auschwitz.

The real horror begins as the train arrives at Auschwitz. Hanna's first impression is of a warm welcome because of the flowers and sunshine and music. She has been told she will be spending the next few weeks in a "work" camp until her family is reunited and relocated. Even the snowflakes make her feel a sense of relief...until she realizes they are not snowflakes at all, but ash.

Hanna is taken to Building 11, where the "welcoming" orchestra women are housed. Her red hair is shaved, her arm tattooed, and she is given a blue skirt, a white blouse, and a violin. She is also given a gray dress, which she wears when she is not performing. And then she spends three years in Hell.

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • IOS