More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.



The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

People who read this also enjoyed

Get a 1 year subscription
for / issue


Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End
Average rating
4.8 / 5
Call the Midwife
August 26th, 2015
A wonderful look back at brave women who gave their all to the moms and babes of the East End of London in the '50's.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
May 19th, 2014
Another beautiful collection of memoirs that vividly places the reader in that time and in the characters' lives.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Nursing and midwifery
May 19th, 2014
A fascinating end to the trilogy. The author writes of the east end of London, Her experiences are fascinating and she and her colleagues deal with massive overcrowding and poverty in the area, none of it change in hundreds of years. She writes about the horrible social effects of the workhouses. At this point in time they are closed, but some ofer patients were born and raised in these horrific institutions. She is a very good writer and her descriptions many times brought me to tears. Please read all three.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Interesting Series
March 20th, 2014
Interesting from a nursing and history point of view.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Call the Midwife - Book 3
February 8th, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed this book series. The characters are rich & you can't help but love them or feel sorry for them. The 50's was an amazing time & so much has changed since then. Beautifully written memoirs.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Call the midwife trilogy
May 12th, 2013
What an amazing read! I have read all 3 books in under 2 weeks and laughed & wept my way through them. So real & exhilarating! Though there were times I had to remind myself that these books were based on real life experience, only because I couldn't fully comprehend the struggles that the people of East End London had to go through, post-war. What a bunch of brave ones!! All of them.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • IOS