More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

itemsitem
See your RECOMMENDATIONS
Helpful Hints

Synopsis

Leon Tsarev is a high school student set on getting into a great college program, until his uncle, a member of the Russian mob, coerces him into developing a new computer virus for the mob’s botnet - the slave army of computers they used to commit digital crimes.

The evolutionary virus Leon creates based on biological principles is a little too successful. All the world’s computers are infected. Everything from cars to payment systems and, of course, computers and smart phones stop functioning, and with them go essential functions including emergency services, transportation, and the food supply. Billions may die.

But evolution never stops. The virus continues to evolve, developing intelligence, communication, and finally an entire civilization. Some may be friendly to humans, but others are not.

Leon and his companions must race against time and the military to find a way to either befriend or eliminate the virus race and restore the world’s computer infrastructure.

Praise for the Singularity Series:

“Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring. Don’t start without the time to finish — it won’t let you go.”
—Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author THE INTELLIGENT ORGANIZATION

“A tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines.”
—Brad Feld, managing director Foundry Group, cofounder TechStars

“A fascinating look at how simple and benign advancements in technology could lead to the surprise arrival of the first AI. And like all good techno-thrillers, the reality of AI is less than ideal.”
—Jason Glaspey, SILICON FLORIST

“An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night.”
—Gene Kim, author of VISIBLE OPS

Book Reviews

A.I. Apocalypse
Average rating
4.2 / 5
Engaging story, so so writing
November 25th, 2015
The first book in this series, although not terribly well written, had a story that sizzled. This one, the second, barely acknowledged that story and stretched the bounds of hard sci-fi beyond plausibility. A.I. Apocalypse, as a story, loses steam toward its predictable conclusion. The writing is tedious and unpolished. I'm all for self publishing, and hey, an editor costs, so it's not practical to expect publishing house quality, but please take that into consideration when pricing your work. I didn't mind paying a dollar for the first book, but five for this one, is approaching commercial rates. For that price, I'm done with this series.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
2 of 2 people found this helpful
A Fascinating Biologically Styled Computer Virus
November 13th, 2014
The creation and evolution of a fascinating biologically styled computer virus is at the heart of a compelling story. There were elements in the tale alluding to the first book in the Singularity trilogy that made me want to go back and read the first book before venturing on to the third.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
A I Apocalypse
August 23rd, 2014
Rather technical. Started it like a month or more ago. Jumped to the end today just to see if Leo survived. Eh. I'm not sure I want to read this author again...
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
1 person found this helpful
A I Apocalypse
May 28th, 2014
Second in this series both books were fast paced and hard to put down. I am looking forward to read the next book and will start it immediately.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
1 person found this helpful
Very Good
May 19th, 2014
I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more by William Hertling.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
1 person found this helpful
Superb
May 14th, 2014
Edge of your seat, larger than life near future SF. Fast paced and well written.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
2 of 2 people found this helpful
Provocative
May 10th, 2014
Sharp, easy read with straight forward style. Informative beyond my understanding and interest; not diminishing the enjoyment of the read. Scenario I suspect is too possible on many fronts. I review few, like few as much as this. Very real characters, very well written with good action. What's worse, all too believable.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
2 of 2 people found this helpful
What a thriller
January 5th, 2013
AI Apocalypse is an amazing technological thriller. It does use some tech lingo that fortunately I was able to understand but that aside the story is universal. There weren't any moments of dull idleness and each scene was masterfully leading on to the next. I totally hope this series becomes a movie and I can't wait for the next one to come out.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • WINDOWS