More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.



Robert Macomber’s Honor series of naval fiction follows the life and career of Peter Wake in the U.S. Navy during the tumultuous years from 1863 to 1901. A Different Kind of Honor is the sixth in the series. The previous novels are At the Edge of Honor (winner of the Patrick D. Smith Literary Award as Best Historical Novel of Florida), Point of Honor (winner of the John Esten Cook Literary Award for Best Work in Southern Fiction), Honorable Mention, A Dishonorable Few, and An Affair of Honor. A Different Kind of Honor is winner of the 2008 American Library Association Boyd Literary Award for Military Fiction. It’s 1879 and Lt. Comdr. Peter Wake is the American naval observer to the War of the Pacific raging along the west coast of South America. Wake witnesses history’s first battle between ocean-going ironclads, rides the world’s first deep-diving submarine, and faces his first machine guns in combat. “A Different Kind of Honor is a tour de force, the best yet of a superb series.” — Admiral James Stavridis, USN

People who read this also enjoyed

Get a 1 year subscription
for / issue

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • IOS