More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.



From Reviewers:

"Edgar-finalist Fanning skillfully illuminates the heartbreaking challenges facing Alzheimer's victims and their families in her fourth mystery featuring Virginia homicide detective Lucinda Pierce (after 2010's Mistaken Identity). Lucinda's investigation leads to a strange place that resembles "a poor man's Disneyland." Series fans will be pleased to find that Lucinda is recovering well from injuries sustained in an earlier case, and that her relationship with FBI Special Agent in Charge Jake Lovett is flourishing." - Publisher's Weekly

"True crime author Fanning brings a rare brand of realism to her work. Still undergoing reconstructive surgeries for the shotgun blast that disfigured her beautiful face, Pierce is intelligent and a pit bull when it comes to finding the guilty. Readers who like to have their emotions engaged while trying to solve the mystery will enjoy Pierce’s latest adventure." - Library Journal

"What’s happening to all the senior citizens who are demented, missing and feared dead?  As usual, Fanning (Mistaken Identity, 2010, etc.) poses Lucinda a quirky mystery, this time providing a thoughtful look at the stress of those caring for loved ones with dementia." - Kirkus Reviews


The fourth book in the series featuring Virginia Homicide Investigator Lucinda Pierce.

A missing elderly man shows up dead on his son’s front porch, his pockets full of acorns.   Pierce isn’t certain if she’s investigating a murder or one of the strangest natural deaths she’s ever encountered. The investigation brings her into contact with the adult children of people with dementia and leads her to a strange remote wonderland. When the missing are found, often questions remain.


You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • IOS