More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

itemsitem
See your RECOMMENDATIONS

Synopsis

A feature film in 2012 starring Logan Lerman, Emma Watson, and Paul Rudd and written and directed by the author—the provocative and poignant “coming-of-age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace” (USA TODAY) that has affected an entire generation of young people.

Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor. This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion has become a modern classic.

     The Perks of Being a Wallflower is the story of what it’s like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie’s letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives or to whom he is writing. All we know is the world he shares. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it puts him on a strange course through uncharted territory. The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and music—when all one requires to feel infinite is that perfect song on that perfect drive.

     Through Charlie, Stephen Chbosky has created a deeply affecting story, a powerful novel that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up.

Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

4.4 out of 5
(346)
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Stars
207 87 36 10 6

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

All Reviews

  • 10 person found this review helpful

    10 people found this review helpful

    10 of 12 people found this review helpful

    Was this helpful to you?

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Report as inappropriate

    As a 15 year old Brit, I found this rather enjoyable but it does give me a false sense of what America is actually like in school with parties and what not. None the less one of my favourite books by far as it is something to relate to even if you don't really relate to this sort of stuff at all (If you get what I mean). I love how it didn't blow the plot outright and let you think of it for yourself. It also lets you slip into the mind of a more philosophical than normal teen (I might be going in the exact wrong direction with this, but it's my interpretation which is what I loved). Even though I am nothing like Charlie it feels like you want to be him even though he has a sort of fucked up personality (pardon me). Overall wish th book went on for longer and enjoyed every minute of reading it. PS. I had watched the film before reading the book and the film just doesn't do the book justice.

  • 3 person found this review helpful

    3 people found this review helpful

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

    Was this helpful to you?

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Report as inappropriate

    Such a great read!

    I'm not used to reading books where the character tells their story through letters so I hesitated to continue reading it. But the more I read, the more I began to love the Perks of Being a Wallflower and the characters within the book. I do wish it were a longer book just because of my love for the story, but overall, I'm satisfied with it from beginning to end :-) .

  • 2 person found this review helpful

    2 people found this review helpful

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

    Was this helpful to you?

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Report as inappropriate

    A fantastic ageless story of teen angst. Anyone who lived through their teens in the 80's will appreciate the cultural references, particularly the music. This book would do well on a middle school reading list, but conservative parents may disagree.

  • 1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

    Was this helpful to you?

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Report as inappropriate

    Amazing!

    PERSON: What's your favorite book? ME: The last book I read. Ohnestly, jokes a side, it was a great book.

  • 1 person found this review helpful

    1 people found this review helpful

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

    Was this helpful to you?

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Report as inappropriate

    AMAZING

    I absoulutley am in LOVE with this book!!! ITS SO INTERESTING! everythin about charlie and his friends & family!

(346)

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS