More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.




"It was on that first day of the hunt, an hour after dawn, that the old man found the body of the boy." This classic novel of crime and punishment in deer-hunting country opens on the first day of buck season in remote Hemlock County, Pennsylvania.  Long-retired hunter and reclusive hermit W.T. Halvorsen discovers the victim of what at first seems like a hunting accident.  After the funeral, the victim's father, Dr.Paul Michelson, begins a search for the killer who shot his son, then walked away, letting him bleed to death in the snow. When Michelson too vanishes, his lover Teresa Del Rosario follows him to Hemlock County, fighting her growing fear he has murder in mind.

Then hunter after hunter begins to die.  As terror stalks the deep woods, Halvorsen pits his tracking and shooting skills against those of his human quarry and enemy in a deadly cat-and-mouse game deep in the Kinningmahontawany Wild Area.

An epic tale of justice, survival, and two utterly determined men hunting each other through the snow-shrouded hills and ravines in the greatest blizzard in twenty years.

Hemlock County is Poyer's fictional re-creation and evocation of the country and people where he grew up.  There are four books in the series.  They were first published in this order: The Dead of Winter, Winter in the Heart, As the Wolf Loves Winter, and then Thunder on the Moutain.  Thunder on the Mountain, however, takes place during Halvorsen's youth, in 1936, long before the generic present settings of the first three books.  Each book stands by itself nonetheless.

Millions of copies of DAVID POYER's thirty-plus books are in print, including THE MED, THE GULF, THE CIRCLE, THE PASSAGE, TOMAHAWK, CHINA SEA, BLACK STORM, THE COMMAND, THE THREAT, KOREA STRAIT, THE WEAPON, THE CRISIS, and THE TOWERS, USA Today best-selling novels of the modern Navy and Marine Corps; and FIRE ON THE WATERS, A COUNTRY OF OUR OWN, and THAT ANVIL OF OUR SOULS, historical fiction set during the Civil War.  Most of these are available as e-books, as are his Hemlock County thrillers, THE DEAD OF WINTER, WINTER IN THE HEART, AS THE WOLF LOVES WINTER, and THUNDER ON THE MOUNTAIN, all recently republished by Northampton House.  His work has been translated into Japanese, Dutch, and Italian, and rights have been sold for films and audiobooks. He currently teaches fiction and memoir in the Creative Writing program at Wilkes University, Wilkes-Barre, PA.

Facebook: David Poyer

Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

No ratings yet
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Stars
0 0 0 0 0

Be the first to rate and review this book!

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!


You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • IOS