More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

itemsitem
See your RECOMMENDATIONS

Synopsis

Inspired by a true story and based on a wealth of family documents, this elegant and compelling novel chronicles the lives of two families from the 1930s through the coming of the Nazis and World War II, and the long, difficult post-War period to the present. A must-read for fans of Irene Nemirovsky, Hans Fallada, and Bernhard Schlink's The Reader.
 
This vividly realized, masterfully executed novel is a window into a little-explored corner of history. Patient Number 7 is a story of love between an aristocratic young woman and the cavalry officer -- later Panzer officer in the German army -- she marries; between friends who help each other through the Nazi takeover of Austria, the war, and what was sometimes worse, the "liberation"; between a mother and her two very different daughters. But it is also the story of a nation's darkest days, and its slow recovery during one of the most convulsive, violent periods of human history. Beautifully written, haunting, and ultimately redemptive, it is a work of great skill and great compassion.


From the Hardcover edition.

Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

3.9 out of 5
(49)
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Stars
20 15 6 4 4

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

All Reviews

  • 3 person found this review helpful

    3 people found this review helpful

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

    Was this helpful to you?

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Report as inappropriate

    A Great Read

    A wonderful story of a woman growing up in pre-war Austria. Her intellect and study of Philosophy in Vienna gave her the inner strength she required to face the eventual trials of Nazi occupation and subsequent war. A glimpse of heroism from the perspective of the German/Austrian citizens is described in beautiful story telling.

  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Was this helpful to you?

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Report as inappropriate

    Hard to get into

    While this was a difficult read it did get more interesting later on. I found too much detail around the professors and their studies. Skipped a lot of that.

  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Was this helpful to you?

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Report as inappropriate

    Slow going and kind of boring

    I found myself skipping over lots of this book. Many uninteresting parts and was glad when it was over so I could start another book that would be better than this one. Couldn't be much worse. Almost gave up reading it many times until it started getting into the war which was slightly better but I've read much much better.

(49)

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS