More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

itemsitem
See your RECOMMENDATIONS
Helpful Hints

Synopsis

For fans of Elizabeth Hoyt and Stephanie Laurens comes a dramatic new series of sizzling Regency romance by the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Club.

 

Born into a world of violence and sin, Jack Travers grew up doing anything to survive. Hell-bent on living on his own terms, he learned to thrive in the shadows, building an empire of gaming hells and racehorses.

 

Condemned to Dartmoor prison’s hell on earth for a murder he didn’t commit, Jack’s only consolation is that he will never again bring darkness into the life of the one woman who believed he was something more than a lost soul.

 

Until Lady Madeline Ashby sneaks into the prison in a cunning disguise, complete with an audacious plan to free him from damnation and prove his innocence—even if she loses her own in the process.

 

Determined to free him from his nightmare, Madeline will face any obstacle to restore honor to Jack’s soul and drag him from darkness into the light. Together, they will face inescapable prison walls, an obsessed detective, a murderer who will kill to keep secrets hidden—and the defenses around one broken man’s heart.

 

4½ Stars and a TOP PICK! “Page has a true winner with this one. The author’s unique plot and well-defined characters complement each other, making this novel a page-turner. From the very first page, readers will be drawn into a thrilling prison break and, from there, a desperate flight to freedom. The tension-laced journey is conducted by a pair extremely colorful and stubborn characters.” —RT Book Reviews

 

***

 

“I have a plan.”

“No, you don’t.” Jack braced his arm on her cart and lowered his mouth close to hers.

In the past, Madeleine had yearned a thousand times to kiss him. Just being near him always made her hot and anxious and aroused. She’d dreamed of kisses, and passion, and even making love. But she’d never dared even touch him. It would be a scandalous act, and she had always tried to be the perfect lady. Here, it didn’t seem so impossible.

“I want you to get out of here and go somewhere where you will be safe,” she whispered.

“Wherever in hell that may be. Lady Madeline, why did you involve yourself in this?”

“I am going to get you out of here, Jack,” she insisted in a whisper. “I heard about a French officer who was helped by a market trader named Mary Ellis. She smuggled in civilian clothes and he hid underneath her voluminous skirts, then got into the disguise and walked out with her. I can return tomorrow—with clothes.”

Jack caught hold of her chin—a touch he never would have dared when he was the head groom on her family’s estate. Her hope for a kiss had been madness. He looked as though he wanted to turn her over his knee and pummel her rump with the flat of his hand. “I’m not going to burrow under your skirts to change my clothes.” His green eyes went horribly cold. “Don’t come back, Lady M. I forbid it.”

“I have to, Jack. I got you in this wretched place. I’m going to get you out.”

“I’m only days away from an escape of my own. I tried it before but I got caught. This time, I won’t. I want you to go home. You are not to take any more risks. Not over me. I was just a groom, my lady. I’m not worth it.”

“You are an innocent man sentenced to hell. Of course you are worth it, Jack Travers.”

He looked stunned, as if she’d hit him. Then he shook his head. “I must be insane, but I do want you to know the truth. Your grandfather was right. I’m innocent.”

The red coats of the guards flashed through the crowd—they were seconds away from catching her with Jack.

When she looked back to Jack, he was gone.

“Stop!” someone shouted from within the crowd. The guards abruptly steered their course away from her. They were trying to run after Jack. She was safe, he was in trouble, and there was nothing she could do.

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS