More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

itemsitem
See your RECOMMENDATIONS

Synopsis

This taut, atmospheric thriller is perfect for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Peter James.

A death in the family from hell brings detectives Fry and Cooper to a remote and unfriendly rural community in their fourth psychological thriller.

“And as it grew dark, Withens became almost entirely silent. Except for the screaming.”

A small village in the Peak District, Withens is troubled by theft and vandalism, mostly generated by a family of local delinquents, the Oxleys. Now the town is the focus of a murder investigation. A man’s body has been found on the bleak moors nearby, and the victim is an Oxley. To crack the case, DC Ben Cooper must break open the degenerate clan.

His boss, DS Diane Fry, is also in Withens. Grim new evidence has turned up in the case of a missing student, but her parents refuse to believe she could be dead.

The darkness in Withens’s heart is growing. And things are only going to get nastier …

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS