More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.


For nearly sixty years, J. Krishnamurti, one of the most distinguished voices of modern times, tirelessly traveled the world lecturing on the need to know the mind, and earned the respect of countless people. Dozens of books document his talks both in the US and in Europe. Discover the Immeasureable contains a series of six lectures given by J. Krishnamurti in the Fall of 1956. It includes the original questions from his listeners, together with his insightful and practical answers. These lectures, as all of the great philosopher's work, are based on the need for radical change in understanding our own minds. With the term “immeasurable, Krishnamurti is urging us to explore “what is beyond the beliefs and theories, beyond the sentimental hopes and intellectual assertions [and] mere projections of the mind that determine our lives. He calls us to passionate action in experiencing life directly, since “only direct experience has validity. To directly experience what is immeasurable will have an extraordinary significance in our lives, even to the point of realizing what is God, or what is truth. The practice of knowing oneself is not an esoteric one, the author asserts. What we discover, with focused attention, is that truth is revealed in every relationship and at every moment. Krishnamurti advocates the practice of meditation not as some otherworldly transport, but as the method for initiating self-knowledge. Through meditation the mind becomes stilled, without demands. In this state, he speculates, “that which is not measurable comes into being. Attachment to any belief undermines the search for truth. A book for seekers of wisdom & truth from any tradition or no tradition. For readers of J. Krishnamurti's previous books, and for bookstores and libraries university & public everywhere.

Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

5.0 out of 5
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Stars
1 0 0 0 0

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

All Reviews

  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Was this helpful to you?

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Report as inappropriate

    Thought Provoking

    This book will entice you to really think deeply into things you may never have otherwise. If you read through it quickly you won't get but a drop in a bucket of the wisdom and knowledge you can gain from it if you stop and think about the things he says, and go over those chapters again once you think you pretty much understand. This is my first book by J. Krishnamurti, but I didn't walk into it blindly, I have read the Eckhart Tolle, Jon Kabat-Zinn, Gary Zukav and others. A lot of these authors I find are essentially trying to say many of the same things, but with different words and slightly different perspectives, and I think depending where we are spiritually depends on who's words penetrate us the most. Words cannot explain the true essence of life, but they can point to them, as Eckhart Tolle says. I know these principles are true though, because I have experienced the miracles that the mindful (or consciously present) self will bring, but just find it hard to stay in that zone with the world as it is around me. I know I am here to continue growing though, and when I'm living peacefully and consciously in the moment all is well, and just keeps getting better.


You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • IOS