More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

itemsitem

Synopsis

The second book in Rae Carson's award-winning The Girl of Fire and Thorns fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones and Kristin Cashore. Tamora Pierce called the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "A unique and engrossing read!" A seventeen-year-old princess turned war queen faces sorcery, adventure, untold power, and romance as she fulfills her epic destiny.

In The Girl of Fire and Thorns, Elisa won the war. She saved her kingdom. But no one prepared her for how hard it is to recover from a battle, or to rule a people who still don't trust her. She's still fighting—against assassination attempts and more—and her enemies lie both outside her court and within it. So Elisa will cross the ocean in search of the perilous, uncharted, and mythical source of the Godstone's power. With her go a one-eyed warrior, a loyal friend, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with. A breathtaking, romantic, and dangerous second volume to Rae Carson's ambitious trilogy. Cinda Williams Chima proclaimed about the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "I LOVED this book!" and Veronica Roth agreed, saying, "Definitely recommended."

People who read this also enjoyed

Get a 1 year subscription
for / issue

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

The Crown of Embers
Average rating
4.5 / 5
A real coming of age story
May 20th, 2015
This sequel to The Girl of Fire and Thorns is nothing short of fabulous. In the first story we watched Elisa find her self worth as a person and bearer and now we see her come into her own as a sovereign. I really enjoyed reading how Elisa found power for her God stone by finding power in herself. I think that's the key word for this book. Power. Power in status, power in knowledge, power in love, and power in one's self. The book is thick with heart stopping actions and enthralling dialogue to satisfy any reader. Everything from assassination attempts, discovering historical secrets, frustrations of the heart and a beautiful heroine who even in her failure is stunning, clever and graceful. I think in the next book Elisa is really going to come into her role as queen and truly be a force to be reckoned with. I just really hope that at the end she and Vector will finally be happy together. That's all I want.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS