A Rakuten Company

More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

itemsitem

Synopsis

"Colleges and universities constitute a special type oforganization; and their complex mission, dynamics, personnelstructures, and values require a distinct set of understandings andskills to lead and manage them well."
From the Preface

In Reframing Academic Leadership, Lee G. Bolman and JoanV. Gallos offer higher education leaders a provocative andpragmatic guide for

  • Crafting dynamic institutions where the whole is greater thanthe sum of the parts
  • Creating campus environments that facilitate creativity andcommitment
  • Forging alliances and partnerships in service of themission
  • Building shared vision and campus cultures that unite andinspire
  • Serving the larger goals of the academy and society

Throughout the book, the authors integrate powerful conceptualframeworks with rich and compelling real-world cases to supportacademic leaders searching for the best in themselves and in theirinstitutions. The book tackles thorny issues such as buildinginstitutional clarity and capacity, managing conflict, coping withdifficult people, partnering with the boss, and developingleadership resilience.

Following in the tradition of Bolman and Deal's classicReframing Organizations, Bolman and Gallos emphasize apragmatic approach. They tease out the unique challenges andopportunities in academic leadership and provide ideas, tools, andencouragement to help higher education leaders see more clearly,feel more confident, and become more skilled and versatile inhandling the vicissitudes of daily life. Reframing AcademicLeadership is the resource for those seeking to understand,develop, and manage colleges and universities.

People who read this also enjoyed

Get a 1 year subscription
for / issue

Read This On

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS