More titles to consider

Shopping Cart



From 1939 to 1945, Squadron Leader Peter Freygood overcomes anti-Semitism, anti-colonialism, innumerable encounters with the enemy, and the normal problems associated with coming of age. Book 1 describes his training as a navigator, mechanic and pilot, his first encounters with the opposite sex, the initial raids on Germany, and the escape of the Allied armies from Dunkirk. In Book II, a crash landing off the Isle of Guernsey leaves the protagonist with amnesia. He meets the girls he will later marry, recovers his memory and returns to England to help in the Battle of Britain. In Book III, he is dropped into the foothills of the Pyrenees to help organize the French resistance and is soon caught up in a trio of romantic entanglements. Sent to spy in occupied France, he escapes after rebuilding World War I vintage aircraft. In Book IV, he is sent to Guernsey to supervise its transition to peacetime, where he must determine the fate of accused war criminals and collaborators.

People who read this also enjoyed

Get a 1 year subscription
for / issue

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • IOS