More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

itemsitem

Synopsis

"Delightfully disgusting, Dead Love is the new horror genre at its best. Fans of Twilight, World War Z, and Neil Gaiman will devour this fine novel whole."—ForeWord Magazine

"This novel about a live dead girl combines an international chase, the suspense of a thriller, a soupçon of sensuality, some wonderfully lyrical episodes, and a set of brand new rules for ghouls. It is as delectable and dangerous as a plate of fugu. I read it in a single sitting."—Tim Cahill, author of Pass the Butterworms, Hold the Enlightenment, and Jaguars Ripped My Flesh

"Linda Watanabe McFerrin charms us with a winding tale of an evil enchantment. A wondrously wild story, told as if the deadpan voice of Dashiell Hammett had been mixed with the song of an artful siren."—Susan Griffin, author of A Chorus of Stones and The Book of Courtesans

Zombies in Japan? You bet your life! Dead Love is an artful supernatural thriller that follows a cast of nefarious characters—both human and otherworldly—as they foul one another's plans and power plays in a conspiracy of global proportions. It begins when Clément, a lovesick ghoul, falls for beautiful young Erin. Unfortunately, she is marked for death by the Japanese mob (the yakuza). Using secrets learned from a Haitian witch doctor, and taking us to Tokyo, Amsterdam, and Malaysia, Clément finds a way to rescue and possess her—but not at all in the manner he expected.

Linda Watanabe McFerrin is a Bay Area–based contributor to numerous journals, newspapers, magazines, anthologies, and online publications. She received the Katherine Anne Porter Prize for Fiction and is the author of the award-winning novel Namako: Sea Cucumber and the short story collection The Hand of Buddha. Her website for her new book is deadlovebook.com.


People who read this also enjoyed

Get a 1 year subscription
for / issue

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS