A Rakuten Company

More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

itemsitem

Synopsis

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

National Book Award Finalist Kathleen Duey called Breathe "An amazing story! Sit down. Inhale. Now, while you still can." Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time. The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books proclaims it an "action-packed dystopian series opener to watch out for."

People who read this also enjoyed

Get a 1 year subscription
for / issue

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Breathe
Average rating
4.2 / 5
Breath is a gripping read.
August 17th, 2013
A great read with a compelling story and intriguing characters. Highly recommended for preteens and teens who enjoyed Divergent and the Hunger Games.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Rough start
January 21st, 2013
It took me a bit to get into this because of how off putting the main male character was but luckily the girls were very likable and kept me going and eventually they all won my heart. Can't wait to see what comes next.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Just wow
January 15th, 2013
It's a great original work of science fiction with intriguing characters I highly recommend people read this
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review

Read This On

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS