More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.


This Bybliotech anthology of Gaius Suetonius Tranquilus contains his most famous work - "The Lives of the Twelve Caesars", as well as the lesser known, "Lives of the Grammarians, Rhetoricians and Poets".

Written in the time of the Emperor Hadrian, "The Twelve Caesars" is a collective biography of the first leaders of the Roman Empire. It covers the lives of Julius Caesar, Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula, Claudius, Nero, Galba, Otho, Vitellius, Vespasian, Titus and Domitian.

The work tells the tale of each Caesar's life according to a set formula: the descriptions of appearance, omens, family history, quotes, and then a history are given in a consistent order for each Caesar. It also includes a great deal of seemingly scurrilous and intriguing information, that helps to paint a very colourful picture of the early Caesars.

This unexpurgated anthology has been compiled by and optimised for e-readers. It includes an active table of contents for ease of navigation, and features twelve unique illustrations as frontispieces for each individual book.

Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

No ratings yet
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Stars
0 0 0 0 0

Be the first to rate and review this book!

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!


You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • IOS