More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.


The Harvard Classics series is an incredible collection of the most important literary works, compiled by Charles Eliot (1834 1926), then president of Harvard University. Eliot stated that a liberal arts education could be supplemented by reading 15 minutes a day from classic works stored on a five foot shelf. For this reason, the series is also known as the Five Foot Shelf. Volume 28 contains literary classics by American and British writers of the past few centuries, including the following works: Jonathan Swift by William Makepeace Thackeray, The Poetic Principle by Edgar Allan Poe, The Idea of a University by John Henry Newman, Walking by Henry David Thoreau, The Study of Poetry by Matthew Arnold, Sesame and Lilies by John Ruskin, John Milton by Walter Bagehot, Abraham Lincoln and Democracy by James Russell Lowell, Truth of Intercourse and Samuel Pepys by Robert Louis Stevenson, and On the Elevation of the Laboring Classes by William Ellery Channing

Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

No ratings yet
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Stars
0 0 0 0 0

Be the first to rate and review this book!

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!


You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • IOS