More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.


Julian Kestrel, the hero of Kate Ross’s series of historical mysteries, is the walking definition of a Regency dandy. He cares about little beyond the perfection of his tailoring, he lives for the bon mot, and his life has the gravity— and the fleeting charm — of a soap-bubble. At least, that’s what he’d like you to think. In fact, it rather suits Kestrel to be perpetually underestimated, particularly when — as in this instance — his weekend at a glamorous country estate is spoiled by a dead girl’s body being found in his bed. If certain elements about Julian Kestrel’s life ring a bell — the ultra-lightweight persona, for example, or the valet who’s been plucked from the criminal classes — that’s no accident: We’re convinced that he’s the true godfather of Peter Wimsey, Albert Campion, and the other “Gentlemen Sleuths” who began cropping up 100 years or so after Kestrel first tied his cravat. Perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer’s Regency novels.

Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

5.0 out of 5
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Stars
1 0 0 0 0

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

All Reviews

  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Was this helpful to you?

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Report as inappropriate


    Well spun mystery that captures and keeps you guessing right to the last page! On to the next book in the series!


You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • IOS