More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

itemsitem

Synopsis

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous today. This inspiring tale captures the power of the human spirit and is perfect for fans of The Book Thief, Milkweed, and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas.

It will soon be another cold winter in the Ukraine.  But it's 1941, and things are different this year.  Max, the devoted caretaker of an animal preserve, must learn to live with the Nazis who have overtaken this precious land. He must also learn to keep secrets—for there is a girl, Kalinka, who is hiding in the park.

Kalinka has lost her home, her family, her belongings—everything but her life.  Still, she has gained one small, precious gift: a relationship with the rare wild and wily Przewalski's horses that wander the preserve. Aside from Max, these endangered animals are her only friends—until a Nazi campaign of extermination nearly wipes them out for good.

Now Kalinka must set out on a treacherous journey across the frozen forest to save the only two surviving horses—and herself.




From the Hardcover edition.

People who read this also enjoyed

Get a 1 year subscription
for / issue

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

The Winter Horses
Average rating
3 / 5
Moving
July 27th, 2015
I enjoyed the book so much, I read it twice. Compassion & understanding between humans & animals. 5 stars from me.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Winter horses
July 1st, 2014
So unlike Kerr,s other works. Something of a disappointment. Best suited for a young girl to read. Perhaps that is the intended audience.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS