A Rakuten Company

More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

itemsitem

Synopsis

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled  by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together—a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys’ own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.



People who read this also enjoyed

Get a 1 year subscription
for / issue

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

The Boys in the Boat
Average rating
4.4 / 5
A compelling read
January 11th, 2015
Reads like a novel but it is a slice of history where good wholesome work prevailed at a time when evil forces were gathering that would again engage the whole world in another epic war. I particularly appreciated the location, as I live in this area. One of my favorite books.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Amazing Read
October 16th, 2014
One of the best stories ever. It's hard to go wrong with an Olympic tale but this is at an all new high.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Great book
September 14th, 2014
I don't follow or know anything about crew but loved the tale told in this book
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Boys in the Boat
August 24th, 2014
Outstanding read...great story that needed telling
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

2 reviews
Boys in the Boat
August 24th, 2014
Outstanding read...great story that needed telling
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

2 reviews
September 3rd, 2013
Very enjoyable and inspiring!!!
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Teacher/ Coach
September 2nd, 2013
This book is the best I've read about true sports hero's who are just regular guys from regular but different places. It brings a person to a level where we all can relate even though we may not accomplished the very top. But came close. A true inspiring and proud story that I just happen to "stumble" across. I now have more respect, admiration, and honor for the Huskies from UW along with my beloved Huskers of UNL. Thank you.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
The Boys in the Boat
August 21st, 2013
One of the best books I've ever read. Captures the essence of being on a team.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review

Read This On

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS