More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

itemsitem

Synopsis

THE AUSTIN JOB is for fans of Eric Flint, Kevin Hearne, Cherie Priest.

SADDLE UP. AUSTIN'S ABOUT TO GET HOT!

"I clutched the couch and screamed for dear life!"
-Seth Neal

* * *

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION:
With the world embroiled in the Great War, power-hungry forces threaten to tear apart the state of Texas in a secret plot to rule the resource that will fuel the future. In The Austin Job, James Starr, bronc rider turned politician, stumbles into a high stakes game of power and lies that he must master before it masters him.

Exploding with double-fisted, cheek-puckering action, including the world's fist parkour stunt horse, The Austin Job dares you to cinch your saddle to a bolt of Lone Star lightning and hold on for dear life.

Author David Mark Brown invites the reader into a world illuminated by human torches and moonlight towers, an underground Austin inhabited by machine and monster alike, where what you don't know can get you killed--or just really, really messed up.

REVIEWS:

"Action packed, with a great storyline, good characters and brilliantly conceived setting, the story grabs you by the throat and shoves you into a world of intrigue, monsters, whirlwind romance and of course breathtaking ride with the horse version of Jackie Chan. Thoroughly enjoyable."
-Amazon Reviewer

"I continue to be amazed at the writing of David Mark Brown. This book was an absolute blast - a Wild Wild West thrill ride through an alternate past of Texas mayhem. Read this book today and remember this author. He's a voice you'll be hearing from in a big way."
-Amazon Reviewer

"The opening chapter is probably the best opening I've read since the Da Vinci code and James Starr (great name) is a local-boy with the world on his shoulders hero that Josef Stalin would have a hard time disliking. The action is thick and fast, the prose tense and terse but what really makes the Austin Job tick are Brown's characters and the way this motley rabble connect and cross each others lives like a Chinese puzzle."
-Peter Francis

* * *

* * * Be sure to follow DAVID MARK BROWN of Facebook and Twitter @RedneckGranola. If you are feeling brave check out THE blog @http://davidmarkbrownwrites.com * * *

* * *

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Raised in Central Texas, David Mark Brown learned to ride horses at a young age. Then learned to hate them after a disastrous attempt to impress a girlfriend. He was five.

Turning instead to a life of poetry and prose he eventually migrated north to the University of Montana (the Berkeley of the Rockies) and became the Redneck Granola.

Meeting a chainsaw wielding mountain woman forced him to reconsider his chosen career path--Hemingway on a sailboat. Instead he illuminated the path of life to college students as a spiritual guide for over a dozen years while his wife (now a pharmacist) squirreled away enough acorns for David to embrace the sultry world of commercial fiction.

After legally snatching a little Vietnamese boy and creating another son via more natural means the happy family settled in Idaho. David still rides horses, but only in black and never for fun.

Enjoy the show!

People who read this also enjoyed

Get a 1 year subscription
for / issue

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS