A Rakuten Company

More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

itemsitem

Synopsis

Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the steadfast company of her husband. But now, with Charles's sudden passing, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone.

As grief settles in, Sarah's mind lingers on her past: her imperfect but devoted fifty-year marriage to Charles; the years they spent raising their three very different children; and her childhood during the Great Depression, when her parents opened their home to countless relatives and neighbors. So, when a variety of wayward souls come seeking shelter in Sarah's own big, empty home, her past comes full circle. As this unruly flock forms a family of sorts, they—with Sarah—nurture and protect one another, all the while discovering their unsuspected strengths and courage.

In the tradition of Jane Smiley and Sue Miller, Kate Maloy has crafted a wise and gratifying novel about a woman who gracefully accepts a surprising new role just when she though her best years were behind her.

People who read this also enjoyed

Get a 1 year subscription
for / issue

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Every Last Cuckoo
Average rating
4.2 / 5
1 person found this helpful
A story of family love
January 14th, 2015
This is a story of family love and how it evolves through good times and the bad. A story that redefines family. It tells us that getting older doesn't have to be the end. It can bring new possibilities if you are open to change. A surprisingly enjoyable read.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
1 person found this helpful
Every Last Cuckoo
April 28th, 2014
Nice story of love and loss and the complexities of family. Enjoyed the generosity of spirit displayed by Sarah.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Every last cuckoo
December 31st, 2013
Such an insightful read. I still go to it for an occasionally reassurance of love and kind feelings.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
1 person found this helpful
Every last cuckoo
January 6th, 2013
I loved this book. I was sad when I finished it! Wonderful story, loveable characters, beautifully written. Thank you Kate Maloy!
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS