More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.


A story of intrigue and revenge, perfect for fans of Jane Eyre, Fingersmith and The Miniaturist.

On top of the Yorkshire Moors, in an isolated spot carved out of the barren landscape, lies White Windows, a house of shadows and secrets. Here lives Marcus Twentyman, a hard-drinking but sensitive man, and his sister, the brisk widow, Hester.

When Annaleigh, a foundling who has fled her home in London, finds herself at the remote house, in service to the Twentymans, she discovers all is not as it seems behind closed doors.

Isolated and lonely, Annaleigh is increasingly drawn to her master. And as their relationship intensifies, she soon realises that her movements are being controlled and her life is no longer her own. Slowly she is drawn into a web of intrigue and darkness, and soon she must face her fears if she is to save herself.

Praise for The Silversmith's Wife:

'A dense, intricate historical thriller centering around the murder of a silversmith - in the tradition of Iain Pears' An Instance of the Fingerpost and Hilary Mantel's Wolf Hall' Sophie Hannah

'A novel that depends as much on its depiction of character and its evocation of place and time as on the unravelling of a mystery' Nick Rennison's Choice, Sunday Times

'Self-assured, page-turning debut which leaves you guessing until the last - a GREAT read' Daily Mail

Praise for The Widow's Confession:

'The Widow's Confession deftly combines the unravelling of a murder mystery with a sophisticated study of a group of disparate people thrown together in the sea-bathing resort of Broadstairs in 1851…Vividly realised' Sunday Times

'A darkly suggestive and intriguing seaside murder mystery with a dash of Wilkie Collins, buts its revelations beg deeper questions and this is where the author is at her strongest…an interesting and forensic probing of Victorian mores and the astonishing and - to us - unnecessary toll they exacted on men and women' Elizabeth Buchan, Daily Mail

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices: