More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.


Spirits are low at the village pub. With takings down, publicans Horace and Glad fear their dream of a Spanish package holiday may never come true. In the early 1960s what passes for excitement hereabouts is the half-yearly livestock sale behind the pub – and Glad posing as Boudicca for the Women’s Institute calendar. Local reporter Des Crow is suffering a lean patch too, so they come up with a stunt aimed at grabbing headlines and boosting trade.
But plans go awry when the cricketing vicar, Alf the village bobby, and old Frank the poacher become involved.
The Five Horseshoes is a light-hearted, funny novella introducing the off-beat characters and eccentricities of village life that readers will meet again in the The Animal Man, the first of David McDine’s upcoming trilogy. It is sure to appeal to fans of Tom Sharpe, Alexander McCall Smith, and P.G. Wodehouse.

Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

No ratings yet
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Stars
0 0 0 0 0

Be the first to rate and review this book!

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!


You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • IOS