More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.


Leofric, eldest son of Earl Leofwine, thought he’d done enough to assure himself of his father’s position when he died. But events outside England constantly distract King Cnut, and instead of his prized earldom, Leofric finds himself as Sheriff of Worcester, a position of strength and power, but heaped with the responsibilities of his father without the title to go with it. Admired by many, his advice is sought by the king, queen, and would-be-queen, whilst he’s despised by Earl Godwine; the king’s greatest English ally, related to King Cnut by a tenuous family relationship.
As events force Cnut ever further away from England, and his own ambitions grow so that he sees himself as more emperor than king, Leofric must find his own path through the intrigue of the court, through the murky relationship between Cnut’s two wives, three sons and daughter, as he tries to determine just what it is his king wants from him before he’ll grant him the title of earl and how, if he gains it, he’ll keep it in the face of the ambitions of Earl Godwine.
Only as Cnut turns his attention back to Leofric’s beloved England, threatened by internal discord, does Leofric understand how much his king truly needs his support, and find a way to achieve his life-long ambition, to become, just as his father was, The Earl of Mercia.
Covering the period from 1026-1031, The Earl of Mercia is the sixth (main series) full-length novel in the epic Earls of Mercia, charting the House of Leofwine from its humble beginnings in 991 throughout the final years of Anglo-Saxon England.

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • IOS