More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

itemsitem

Synopsis

A feature film in 2012 starring Logan Lerman, Emma Watson, and Paul Rudd and written and directed by the author—the provocative and poignant “coming-of-age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace” (USA TODAY) that has affected an entire generation of young people.

Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor. This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion has become a modern classic.

     The Perks of Being a Wallflower is the story of what it’s like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie’s letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives or to whom he is writing. All we know is the world he shares. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it puts him on a strange course through uncharted territory. The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and music—when all one requires to feel infinite is that perfect song on that perfect drive.

     Through Charlie, Stephen Chbosky has created a deeply affecting story, a powerful novel that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up.

People who read this also enjoyed

Get a 1 year subscription
for / issue

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Average rating
4.4 / 5
Insightful
August 22nd, 2015
As someone who suffers from depression, this book was so insightful into how it feels. The characters were so developed and realistic. The climax of the story was surprising. I have often found many books of this nature will level me in tears, but this sad story was not depressing but uplifting
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Pretty good
December 16th, 2014
It has its own kind of magic, it feels light and lovely. Charlie makes it so easy to care for his character, so memorable.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Great
September 29th, 2014
Such a relatable book, I love it :-)
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Clueless
July 24th, 2014
I wasn't allowed to read the book because of a part in the book so would someone mind telling me what the book was about?
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
May 21st, 2014
LOVED this book, very unexpected ending
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
so so
May 4th, 2014
okay, I guess, not too big a deal though, appreciated the humour and stuff, but got a bit bored with the protagonist
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
April 22nd, 2014
Excellent narrative voice, although perhaps a little too reminiscent of Holden Caulfield. Still, well written.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
2 of 2 people found this helpful
January 27th, 2014
As a 15 year old Brit, I found this rather enjoyable but it does give me a false sense of what America is actually like in school with parties and what not. None the less one of my favourite books by far as it is something to relate to even if you don't really relate to this sort of stuff at all (If you get what I mean). I love how it didn't blow the plot outright and let you think of it for yourself. It also lets you slip into the mind of a more philosophical than normal teen (I might be going in the exact wrong direction with this, but it's my interpretation which is what I loved). Even though I am nothing like Charlie it feels like you want to be him even though he has a sort of fucked up personality (pardon me). Overall wish th book went on for longer and enjoyed every minute of reading it. PS. I had watched the film before reading the book and the film just doesn't do the book justice.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
January 27th, 2014
A brilliant book brimming with teenage tension and struggles. Certainly one to read!
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
1 person found this helpful
January 27th, 2014
A fantastic ageless story of teen angst. Anyone who lived through their teens in the 80's will appreciate the cultural references, particularly the music. This book would do well on a middle school reading list, but conservative parents may disagree.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
January 27th, 2014
I loved it. This story is very engaging right to the end :) Great coming of age story.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
January 27th, 2014
Very good book and seen the movie too. Agree it is for older audiences.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
January 24th, 2014
I really love this book it is one of my favorites, i love that the author targets older children(Teenagers) as its hard to find a book to get engrossed in because you cant understand that language or its very childish. Overall, i love this book and never get bored of re-reading it
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
January 24th, 2014
An amazing series of letters from freshman Charlie. It chronicles his year of school, past, friendship, and relationships.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
January 24th, 2014
I absolutely loved this. It affected me on a deep emotional level.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
January 24th, 2014
I really enjoyed to read this book. I Loved it from beggining to end.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
January 23rd, 2014
It was very well written but had a lot of sexual things in it!!! Defiantly for older teens!!!
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Perks of being a wallflower
January 18th, 2014
The book perfectly displays what being a teen is like. From how the main character is not prejudice about people and problems, really opens up your view on life and people. This book shows that even though you might think people are really weird, they are actually all just beautiful people in their own way. You just don't know them or what they have been through yet.
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Amazing
January 14th, 2014
Amazing book. So emotional. Somewhat like the movie but not. Loved this book as much as I did the movie. Easy 5 stars!!!
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review
Another one on my top ten!
December 27th, 2013
This was my favorite Holiday read last year! It's is a fun, quick read highlighting the common life-struggles of adolescence that should unite high-school society but more often tragically seperates it. http://creativeluv.wordpress.com
Helpful? Yes | No | Report

1 review

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • TABLETS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • BLACKBERRY
  • WINDOWS